Wednesday, April 17, 2013

CHCCS Announces Teachers of the Year

Faculties across the Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools district have selected their Teachers of the Year to represent the best in teaching at each school.

Elementary teachers who have been elected to the honor are: Emily Moorman, fourth grade teacher, Carrboro Elem.; Megen Vesser, Kindergarten teacher, Ephesus Elem.; Kris Swanson, Kindergarten teacher, Estes Hills Elem.; Suzanne Stokes, first grade teacher, FPG Elem.; Candace White, third grade teacher, Glenwood Elem.; Pam McAllister, third grade teacher, McDougle Elem.; Becky Springer, art teacher, Morris Grove Elem.; Nidhi Cash, ESL teacher, Rashkis Elem.; Hannah Stang, third grade teacher, Scroggs Elem.; and Sherry Norris, health/PE teacher, Seawell Elem.

At the middle school level, these teachers were selected:  Mimi Collins, ESL teacher, Culbreth MS; Nicky Stewart, math teacher, McDougle MS; Michael Harris, social studies teacher, Phillips MS; and Mackenzie Casey, health/PE teacher, Smith MS.

From the high schools, these teachers have been chosen:  Mark Kadlecik, health/PE teacher, Carrboro High; Stephen Blackwell, social studies teacher, Chapel Hill High; and Michelle Michaels, exceptional children's teacher, East Chapel Hill High.

All of the school Teachers of the Year will be honored May 17 at Carrboro High School at the district's annual recognition reception where they will be presented with items donated by local businesses.  The District Teacher of the Year and two honor teachers will be announced that evening.  The district will also recognize staff members who are retiring, as well as staff awards, teaching chairs and years of service.  Tickets to the event may be purchased from the Human Resources Department at Lincoln Center by calling 919-967-8211, ext. 28230.  Tickets are $5 per person.

Back to CHCCS website