Friday, April 7, 2017

CHCCS Announces Teachers of the Year for 2017-18

Faculties across the Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools district have selected their 2017-18 Teachers of the Year to represent the best in teaching at each school.

Elementary teachers who have been elected to the honor are: Emily Moorman, K-2 coaching specialist, Carrboro Elem.; Rachel Etheridge, Kindergarten teacher, Ephesus Elem.; Ann Partin, fourth grade teacher, Estes Hills Elem.; Flor Ramirez, PE/healthful living teacher, FPG Billing├╝e; Jianghong “Jenny” Zhao, fifth grade Dual Language teacher, Glenwood Elem.; Natalie Sayag, third grade teacher, McDougle Elem.; Lauren Boening, third grade teacher, Morris Grove Elem.; Nancy Hilburn, English as a Second Language (ESL) teacher, Northside Elem.; Amanda Klinkman, EC resource teacher, Rashkis Elem.; Rebeka Hall Barringer, third grade teacher, Scroggs Elem.; and Kevin Swain, fourth grade teacher, Seawell Elem.

At the middle school level, these teachers were selected:  Terra Hodge, drama teacher, Culbreth MS; Christine Lippy, eighth grade science teacher, McDougle MS; Katherine Whittington, math teacher, Phillips MS; and Danka Kulikowski, drama teacher, Smith MS.

From the high schools, these teachers have been chosen:  Melissa Barry, EC system level teacher, Carrboro HS; Isaac Marsh, EC resource teacher teacher, Chapel Hill HS; and Shannon McGinnis, math teacher, East Chapel Hill HS.

This year, CHCCS is also honoring a teacher from the UNC Hospital School, Anna Kohler, EC resource teacher.

All of the schools' Teachers of the Year will be honored on Thursday, May 11 at Carrboro High School at the district's annual Recognition Reception where they will be presented with items donated by local businesses.  The District Teacher of the Year and two honor teachers will be announced that evening.  The district will also recognize Classified Employees of the Year, Exceptional Children & Student Services Employees of the Year, staff members who are retiring, as well as staff awards which include Teaching Chairs and Years of Service.  Tickets to the event must be purchased by April 14 from the Human Resources Department at Lincoln Center.  Tickets are $5 per person.

Pictured: 2016-17 Teachers of the Year at the
2016 Recognition Reception