Wednesday, April 13, 2016

CHCCS Announces Teachers of the Year for 2016-17

Faculties across the Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools district have selected their Teachers of the Year to represent the best in teaching at each school.

Elementary teachers who have been elected to the honor are: Brandy Hutchens, gifted education specialist, Carrboro Elem.; Kaitlin Baird, first grade teacher, Ephesus Elem.; Claire Rizzo, special education teacher, Estes Hills Elem.; Denise Feliz, second grade dual language teacher, FPG Billing├╝e; Robin Franklin, third grade teacher, Glenwood Elem.; Hope Kilgo, Kindergarten teacher, McDougle Elem.; Amy Brazaski, second grade teacher, Morris Grove Elem.; Deandra Hill, Exceptional Children (EC) resource grade teacher, Northside Elem.; Craig Walker, fifth grade teacher, Rashkis Elem.; Jeanette Dixon, third grade teacher, Scroggs Elem.; and Shanice Harrington, fourth grade teacher, Seawell Elem.

At the middle school level, these teachers were selected:  Jessie Grinnell, English/language arts teacher, Culbreth MS; Kate Parrent, visual arts teacher, McDougle MS; Ann Daaleman, orchestra director, Phillips MS; and April Ferguson, social studies teacher, Smith MS.

From the high schools, these teachers have been chosen:  Lisa French, honors and AP world history teacher, Carrboro HS; Randy Trumbower, special education teacher, Chapel Hill HS; and Beth Watson, English as a Second Language (ESL) teacher, East Chapel Hill HS; Jared Mann, mathematics teacher, Phoenix Academy HS.

All of the schools' Teachers of the Year will be honored May 20 at Carrboro High School at the district's annual Recognition Reception where they will be presented with items donated by local businesses.  The District Teacher of the Year and two honor teachers will be announced that evening.  The district will also recognize Classified Employees of the Year, Exceptional Children & Student Services Employees of the Year, staff members who are retiring, as well as staff awards which include Teaching Chairs and Years of Service.  Tickets to the event must be purchased by April 22 from the Human Resources Department at Lincoln Center.  Tickets are $5 per person.

Pictured: 2015-16 Teachers of the Year at the
2015 Recognition Reception