Thursday, January 5, 2017

Endowed Teaching Chairs Recognize Excellence in Education

The Chapel Hill-Carrboro Public School Foundation (PSF) seeks nominations for the 2016-2017 Teaching Chair Awards. Chair honorees receive monetary awards of $1,000 annually for the duration of the award and will hold the chair award for two to three years, depending on the specific chair.

The current Teaching Chair categories include the following:

   - Upper Elementary Chair - For Excellence in Teaching Innovation (Grades 3-5)

   - Middle School Award - Zora Rashkis Chair for Excellence in Teaching Middle School Language        Arts or Social Studies

   - Middle and High School - Burton Stuart Chair for Promising New Teacher in Math or Science

   - PTA Chair for Excellence in Teaching Cultural Arts (All Grade Levels)

Students, parents, CHCCS staff and members of the community are invited and encouraged to nominate outstanding teachers for these respective awards. Criteria for eligibility and nomination links can be found on the Public School Foundation website (

All nominations must be submitted by January 31, 2017.

The PSF is a non-profit organization that financially supports students and teachers of the Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools. Since its inception in 1984, the foundation has distributed over $ 5,000,000 for programs and projects that otherwise would not have received funding. The PSF receives funding from grants and private donations, and helps schools with fundraising through community events such as the annual 5K for Education and the Teachers First Breakfast and Roses. For more information, please contact Lynn Lehmann, PSF Executive Director at or by phone at 919-968-8819.